PE, RLS, PLS, RE, etc.

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdriver

PE, PLS
Reaction score
I am a licensed engineer (passed October 2012 exam) and land surveyor (since 2004) in the State of Tennessee.

BSCE University of Tennessee/Knoxville 2007.

Many college credits towards a land surveying (or Geomatics as it's known today it seems) degree. May finish someday.

A few college credits of C++ programming (at one time considered a Computer Science degree to someday program land surveying and civil engineering software)

Most likely will seek Master's first though.

I am curious as to what constitutes licensed individuals to add:

PLS (Professional Land Surveyor)

RLS (Registered Land Surveyor)

PE (Professional Engineer)

RE (Registered Engineer)

I've certainly seen different combinations over the course of 20+ years in the business.

Tennessee stamps indicate Registered Engineer & Registered Land Surveyor.

So, can one just call themselves PE & PLS because they feel like it? I would like opinions on the subject please. Professional sounds/looks better I feel.

Does it become a legal issue?

Is it a per state basis issue?

Is it because degreed individuals can call themselves professionals?

Is it due to multiple state licenses?

I've often wondered about this now I have my engineering license. I have always indicated TN RLS on signatures, business cards, etc.

What say you?

Thanks

Hit it on the head. Cool looking stamp by the way.

tepe.gif

Compare that to where I was first licensed. Some of my other states say registered.

vtpe.gif

Yeah. I like it as well.

So you can call yourself a PE due to multiple states?

For instance,

VTEnviro, PE

I'm going to email my board. They are very responsive.