FE Exam Study Advice

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bonesface7

Reaction score
hey guys, i am taking the FE in april 2009 and am trying to get a jump on the studying. I graduated civil engineering in may 2007, but have forgot alot of the mathematics.

my question is, regarding the math on the exam, what should i focus my studying on? obvioulsy differentials and integrals, but what about low level topics such as factoring / quadratics / polynomials / conics / trig identities / logaritihms, etc? should i just breeze through that and start on the calculus and engineering topics?

Please advise, going over all this old math is extremely discouraging.

Thanks,

Bones

hey guys, i am taking the FE in april 2009 and am trying to get a jump on the studying. I graduated civil engineering in may 2007, but have forgot alot of the mathematics.
my question is, regarding the math on the exam, what should i focus my studying on? obvioulsy differentials and integrals, but what about low level topics such as factoring / quadratics / polynomials / conics / trig identities / logaritihms, etc? should i just breeze through that and start on the calculus and engineering topics?

Please advise, going over all this old math is extremely discouraging.

Thanks,

Bones
Although you may want to overlook these topics you should in terms of completeness ensure that you go through them all because you dont know what questions will be on the exam. Just be prepared to do any math problem and get it right in quick time. Take my advise dont rule out anything in maths its an area to pick up easy points.

I'm tempted to take the FE Oct. 25th. My University offers free classes 5x a week to prep for the exam. You might check if your or a local Uni has similar classes.

These are taught by PE's so they'll have some experience with the test.