Passed the Power PE Exam on my first try!!

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sam ABJ

Reaction score
I spent hours on these forums looking for people's experience with this behemoth of an exam, and this is my way of giving back to anyone who might need it! Fair warning, this is going to be a long post for those who love to read detailed experiences. Will include a TLDR for those who don't!

A little background on me. I'm 27, married, no kids, work during the day and take care of my folks when needed. I have 3+ years of experience in a power engineering consultancy firm. My education was heavily focused on Microelectronics. While I took a number of Power classes, I was behind the curve in terms of the depth of knowledge needed for this exam.

Material:
I used Engineering Pro Guides 6 months on demand. Highly recommend this. It is extremely well structured and has everything you need to know. Justin does a great job of explaining the material in his book and his video lectures. His practice problems and exams also do a great job at solidifying the material, but I wouldn't say they look similar to the actual exam. Also, there is so much of these problems that they start to look similar towards the end, so definitely invest in other practice exams. Look out for some errors/typos in the material though, make sure to reference the errata. This review course also has a more attractive price tag than other classes. I also used Zach Stones Electrical PE Review practice exam and NCEES practice exams. These are MUST haves. Will explain why later.

Study Timeframe: