Enhanced Education Requirements for the PE

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Road Guy

Reaction score
Sad saps wish to require a masters + degree to sit for the PE exam (its a good thing the states decide who sits for the exam and not NCEES)

Have these guys ever worked in the "real world" ? outside of academics?

This is not the way to go about "bringing value" to the profession, it has been tried in so many other professions and failed, why do they think it will bring value to engineers?

While I have a masters degree, IMO I would rather hire someone with 1 year of work experience than someone with a Masters Degree (7 0 experience) any day of the week..

http://www.ncees.org/news/index.php?release_id=1

Last edited by a moderator:
I did notice that anything over 120 credit hours counts toward the required extra 30 outlined in the proposal. So I guess that means I would need another 5 credit hours to qualify for the exam under the new requirements.

My question is this. How many hours did you have when you graduated? I had 145 and all of them were required.

I dont honestly know, I was on the quarter system when I graduated I would have to look it up.

All this will do IMO is discourage "Americans" from getting an engineering degree due to extra coursework and increase the # of engineers from India & China, who have to get a masters degree anway (to have there undergrad validated) to come here and take the place of American students who decide to major in something else.

Is NCEES charged with setting the standards?

In most states the legislature has to decide to change the requirements for who sits for the exam.

I had around 128 hours I think as an undergrad. Then 30 additional hours for a master's.