Resident, EIT in PA. PE test out of state (MD,NJ) before PA PE time requirement. PA via comity after time requirement?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

acs118

Reaction score
Have searched quite a bit and messaged some other users without success.

I am a resident of and received my EIT certification is Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania requires 4 years of work under a PE after the EIT is established before allowing you to sit for the PE exam. I do a lot of work in NJ. If I were to pass the PE exam in NJ before the 4 year requirement from PA, would I be able to obtain a PE license in PA via comity later on after the 4 year period is met?
Does any PA resident have direct experience with this scenario? I came across a handful of similar posts but none had the answer I'm ultimately looking for. Thanks!

Have searched quite a bit and messaged some other users without success.

I am a resident of and received my EIT certification is Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania requires 4 years of work under a PE after the EIT is established before allowing you to sit for the PE exam. I do a lot of work in NJ. If I were to pass the PE exam in NJ before the 4 year requirement from PA, would I be able to obtain a PE license in PA via comity later on after the 4 year period is met?
Does any PA resident have direct experience with this scenario? I came across a handful of similar posts but none had the answer I'm ultimately looking for. Thanks!
I actually am in the same situation. I reached out to the board to confirm. They will not approve your PA PE license until you have the 4 years after your EIT even if you have a license in another state. You can apply but they won't approve it until after the 4 years.

@MRF Thanks for the reply.