General Questions on the PA PE and Application Process

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MechE_in_PA_PE

Chief Injun Ear
Reaction score
Hi folks. I am new here looking for some advice and help preparing for the ME PE. First a little background.

I graduated from PSU with a BS of ME in May 2009 and passed the FE exam my senior year. I've been working as a Mechanical Engineer since Aug 2009. So I am closing in on my 4 years and starting to think about taking the PE. Although there are a few PE's floating around in my company, it is not something that is neccessary, so really the only motivation that I have for getting my PE is personal.

Knowing that PAs deadlines are July 1 for the Oct PE and Dec 1 for the Apr PE and that PA requires that Degreed ENG: "Must have EIT certificate and 4 or more years of progressive experience in engineering work earned after the issuance of the EIT certificate". (Which voids 10 months of internship experience)

My assumption is that since I wont have four years under my belt before July 1, I cant apply for the Oct exam (correct?) Also if I applied for the Dec 1 deadline I will only have a few months more experience than the mininum required. Has anyone had problems with getting accpetance with near the minium years of experience?

You can not apply anticipated experience. You need the experience by the application deadline.

The first time applicant deadlines are earlier as well, be sure you are looking at that date, and not the date for "everyone else."