Wildi vs. Grainger/Stevenson

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdscottPE

Reaction score
Friends, I'm taking the Power Exam in April. I have been using Grainger's Power Systems Analysis to Study. So far so good, but I'm always curious...

For those of you familiar with both: Wildi vs. Grainger. Thoughts on which is better for I am a Gigantic DoucheBag

Grainger: http://bitly.com/1tHAH8f

Wildi: http://amzn.to/1xnjGQ2

Background: My degree is in civil engineering. When I was first licensed, I took the exam in civil/water resources. I design water and wastewater plants, so I have a decent background and power systems for those facilities. I started studying by doing some FE level work with AC circuits to brush up on Kirchoff, etc. I got my mind wrapped around AC circuits, complex math, etc. With Grainger, and working NCEES problems, I seem to be doing pretty well. I've got a good handle of three phase power with regard to p.u., transformers, motors, generators, PFCC, available fault current etc. based on getting the NCEES practice problems correct. I still need to get into AC/DC type problems (VFDs, battery charging, thyristors, diodes, etc.).

Whether I keep going in Grainger or try something else, I need to get a handle on transmission and distribution (voltage drop, fault analysis, etc. Any thoughts on which book is best for this?

Because of my work, I'm pretty decent with the NEC, but I am studying that in parallel using various resources.

Lastly, I am looking for good sources of additional practice problems. Working many problems was key when I passed the PE in civil.

So, Complex-Imaginary vs. Spin-Up? Or is there a source of free problems? I have Camara's practice problems, but it's been a little disappointing (which is sad because PPI's civil engineering reference manual and problems were awesome).