Studying for FE

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wvgirl14

Reaction score
Pipestem, :::::::::::::::wv:::::::::::::::
Well I started studying again and this time I am using on my handbook to solve the problems in the FERM. I have already hit a road block. Statics was never a strong point from me, but boy am I struggling to get through it. I went through Fluids and took note of the problems I have trouble with so Ican return to these later on, but I think I will have to go back to every static problem. Also any advice for how to study Chemistry and Thermo. I did not have these in college and so I am at a loss of how to really go about these. Last time I just hit them briefly, but I wnat to do better and pick up points here. The repeat taker scores scare the heck out of me. I am doing alot of praying and studying at least an hour a day.

wvgirl:

From what i remember about the FERM, it didn't do a very good job of showing how to do alot of the chemistry stuff - you should def. know how to balance reactions (stoichiometrically), know how to calc moles based on chemical formula, determine empirical formulas from reactants, etc. You might want to pick up one of those SuperReview paperbacks or something if you don't have a chem text handy.

On the thermo, i think the FERM did an alright job on that, at least to gain good understanding for a.m. section anyways. FWIW, the only thermo i had was in my chemistry class, and physics. never had a stand-alone thermo class. I took the test this past Oct, and did alright on what i remember of the a.m. thermo & chem quests.

if you have specific quests on either one, post them, that material is still relatively fresh in my brain (though fading fast, lol), and better minds than mine in those subjects are here certainly