I Passed PE Mechanical TFS 1st Try! Here’s my Story

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GTGodzilla

Reaction score
I got my notification this past Wednesday I passed my PE Exam (Mechanical TFS)! I cannot begin to tell you all how elated I feel! I wanted to share with others what I did.

Background; I graduated way back in 2000 with my BS in Mechanical Engineering from Georgia Tech. I had taken the FE right before I graduated so it had been 2 decades before I decided to go for the gold.

After my application was approved back in April in the state of Georgia, I sove into studying. I had already bought the MERM and practice problems, downloaded the NCEES Mechanical Reference Manual and the 2019 NCEES Practice Exam but I knew with the gap in college I needed a review course. After much research, I decided on Dr. Tom’s Classroom. I started the course early May of 2022 and completed it in early October. I had a routine each week and studied between 8-20 hours each week. Mostly working problems from Dr. Tom. Later I bought the practice exam from Engineer Pro Guides and worked those problems form extra practice. Starting in October I would do the NCEES Practice Exam timed in a morning and afternoon session every Friday starting at 5:00 am. I worked it about 6 or 7 times and could finish it with 100% in about 5 1/2 hours. Later I did this once with the Engineer Pro Guides Exam having never seen it and got it done in 8 hours. Made an 80 on the morning and 87 on the afternoon. I tallied my total study time this morning (recorded it each day) and I ended up with 533 hours.