Preparation for the ME PE exam

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aerofrank

AeroFrank
Reaction score
To Whom It May Concern:

I'm contemplating on re-taking the Mechancial PE exam next year (2013). Here's my dilemma;

I'm basically an Aerospace Engineer (by profession). I received my Degree in Mechanical Engineering in 1974 and took some post-graduate work in Aeronautical Engineering and Applied Mathematics through the Naval Postgraduate School. I'm currently working on completing my Masters Degree in Aerospace Engineering (2013). I have over 25 years of working experience (Military and Civilian), working as a AE, ME, Elect and Systems Engineer. NCEES once had an Aeronautical/Aerospace Engineer test;however because there were less engineers taking the exam, they discontinued it.

I don't mind pursuing the Mechanical exam,except for the following:

1. I have no experience in the HVAC field and I don't have any idea of what study material would

prepare me for the HVAC problems. I have no experience in project management as well, this

includes manufacturing subjects.

I would feel more confortable in taking the Materials and Systems (Machine Design, Vibrations, Dynamics etc), rather than the Thermodynamics, Fluids and heat transfer afternoon protion of the exam. I don't want to carry alot of books into the exam, so my questions to you are:

1. What study material (especially for Project Management and HVAC), would you recommend I

acquire for the morning as well as the afternoon portion of the exam? Note: I already have the

Shigley text (Classic fifth edition), Crane 410, Cameron Hydraulics, Steam and Gas Tables,

Beer and Johnson's Engineering Mechanics and Strength of materials. compressible Fluid Flow

and Aerodynamics by Anderson. I'm assuming most of the other subject matter can be covered

in the MERM.