October 2007 Exam: What you did right

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jennifer Price

Tattoo Girl, PE
Reaction score
1. What exam did you take?

2. How many hours did you study?

3. What did you study?

4. Any advice to those taking the exam in April 08?

1. Civil / Transportation PM

2. As stated before, I started studying for the April exam so my time is a ridiculous amount. For the October exam, I probably put in about 250-300 hours including time to organize, tab and put together my folders and references.

3. I read my CERM cover to cover b/c I wanted to know where everything was (especially in the environmental sections since I have no idea about anything environmental). I worked most of the CEPP problems. I worked through the six-minute books for transportation and geotechnical. And I did the full 8-hour practice exam 2 weeks before the exam. My studying, though, was more of me reading through the problem and going through the answers line by line. I wrote down all the answers (b/c that's how I remember things), but as I did it, I went to the place that the equation was listed and to the reference that was given (especially in transportation with all the tables, etc. that you had to know how to do). I did this for all the CEPP problems I worked and by the time I got to my six-minute problems, I was comfortable enough to be able to work the problems without looking at the answers.