New member EIT

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bramsey

Reaction score
Hi all,

I graduated with a B.S. in Civil Engineering in Dec 2023, passed FE and became CA EIT. I rushed through college in 5 semesters, so I am only 20 years old and I am figuring out what to do next. (PE?)

In Jan 2024, I started doing consulting traffic engineering in VA with primary work in signal timing for the east coast states.

I would like to take the PE Exam this year and to figure out which state in the east doesn't require experience. I also heard about the new exam format and also am wondering about which course to take.

Here's what I would suggest: Find a PE practice exam for the transportation depth exam, and take it. See how much of the information you actually know. If you feel like you have a basic understanding of 50% of the questions, you can probably study your way up to a passing score. If you feel like you are drowning in new information while taking it, it might be better to wait a little longer and gain some more experience before taking the exam.

Most if not all states require experience before being issued a license. Once you get your license you can sign off on plans, it’s not safe to have someone signing off on plans who. Has no experience working under a professional engineer

Most if not all states require experience before being issued a license. Once you get your license you can sign off on plans, it’s not safe to have someone signing off on plans who. Has no experience working under a professional engineer
I definitely agree, it wouldn’t be good to have an inexperienced or under qualified PE. To reiterate, I am going to earn my experience and be well prepared to handle the responsibility, but I was originally wondering what state allows me to sit for the PE exam without the experience.