Master's in Engineering Management Decision

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

triguy89

Reaction score
Hello all, I am a senior civil engineer graduating from VA Tech with my B.S. degree this May, yikes.

I applied to 4 schools' Master of Engineering Management programs. I have made it into Cornell, Johns Hopkins, and Duke. I am still waiting on Carnegie Mellon. If you were interviewing me next year, what program would look most impressive to you? I am struggling with the decision... any input would be much appreciated!

Well, congratulations! Being able to walk out of VT and be accepted in to 4 very prestigious schools is a very noble achievement. I have not reviewed any of the 4 programs, however, I will. That being said, I would probably look real hard at Carnegie Mellon as my first choice. Why? Carnegie Mellon has a first rate industrial administration program that is a cross between an MBA and a Masteris in IE--- it may not be EXACTLY precise, however, close enuf for this discussion.

What you will learn, I believe is how to couple the engineering with the business side of engineering. This will put you in a very competitive position down the road 2 years from now when you are ready to graduate and try something out here in the real world.

I would take the FE, if you have not already done so. Just another notch in the gunstock. This then allows you to begin the clock on the PE as well.