Licensed Engineer = Professional Engineer?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dark Knight

Silent Guardian
Reaction score
Hello there,

Finally received my certificate tonight :D . Went to the mail box and it was there. A beauty, have to say. Very nice. It came with a letter from the Puerto Rican Department of State with the due protocol and bla bla bla. Only thing I did not like is: I am not a Professional Engineer. I am a Licensed Engineer. :eek:

I did not see that one coming. Call one of my friends and then I learned that our Dept. Of State changed the way they call the P.E.s to L.E.s. Very wise :wtf: Do not have a freaking idea why they did that. Now I am afraid Florida is going to give me hell to give me my license here just for the wording in the certificate and the letter.

Does anybody know about other states doing this? I feel betrayed. I wanted to be a P.E. Wanted to see my license number and the letters P.E. at the end. Now they say INL ( Ingeniero Licenciado in Spanish...that would be Licensed Engineer in English)

Seriously: Is that a national trend?

You would be surprised. Our Department of Stae and the College of Engineers are always pioneers in changes. Puerto Rico is among the first states requiring NCEES Record to grant licenses by comitty(excuse me if this is not the right word). Maybe they are doing it again.

Anyways I have to thank the Lord for giving me this blessing, no matter what the name would be. Do not forget to thank him everyday of your life my friends. :claps:

Well, now. more than ever....

;guns; ;guns; ;guns; ;guns; ;guns; ;guns; ;guns; ;guns; ;guns; ;guns; ;guns;

shouldnt be a big deal I know a lot of Surveyors whose states changed them to Licensed Surveyor from prof. surveyor (vice versa)