I can't find an internship

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Riceman

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a senior CE student with structural emphasis, I have 3.6 GPA and an EIT certificate. I applied for internship at 10 different consulting firms in California (some out of states as well) and got turned down by all of them. Is the economy really this bad? anyone has any leads? thanks in advance.

Hi, I'm a senior CE student with structural emphasis, I have 3.6 GPA and an EIT certificate. I applied for internship at 10 different consulting firms in California (some out of states as well) and got turned down by all of them. Is the economy really this bad? anyone has any leads? thanks in advance.
Do some searches over in Houston. It's the #1 city in America for college grad engineering jobs and internships. The hard part is getting paid a per diem or living expenses when finding an out of state internship.

I'm not surprised. Senior Engineers (w/ PE) are being laid off all over the country... which means that they are starting to accept entry-level positions, which means that EITs are scrambling for internship and engineering tech positions just to get by... leaving nothing for students looking for internships.

Sorry.

Thanks for everyone's advice, I guess my best bet is to a- get the hell out of California once I graduate. or b- go to a graduate school and wait out this hard time.

I've always been told that CE's will always have a job and it's somewhat recession proof, apparently that's not the case. My girlfriend who's a liberal arts/child development major already has multiple job offers, ironically, I who make fun of her major, is going to twiddle with my thumb this summer.