Got a job offer. Need advice on what to do and how to resign.

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bulls2030

Reaction score
So today I got a job offer from a company. (I posted about going through a tough time with my boss a few weeks ago on this thread). The job offer is providing approximately $7000 more than what I currently make (I graduated with a BS in Civil Engineering May 2015 and got a job before graduating, so if I take this new job, this would be my second job since graduating college. Frankly, I was quite put down in the current company I am in. My most recent manager but my down and scolded my work a lot which really has effected me mentally and emotionally (I got changed managers last week thank god, I didn't say anything though that caused the change). I just don't feel the motivation to learn here anymore and I feel I need a change to bring back energy in my career. What I currently do is land development and I have always liked roadway design and this opportunity gives me that. So that is why I am thinking of switching. I feel salary wise as well it would be beneficial for my family. What are your thoughts?

So here are some of my questions/concerns on how to resign since I am doing this for the first time professionally:

1) The person I need to inform, Eric(president of the company) of my resignation won't return to the office until Monday. The offer I got from the company said they need to fill the position ASAP and would like to know my decision by the end of this week. Should I email Eric and let him know about my resignation and put in my two weeks notice? or should I wait to inform/talk to him in person on Monday morning when he returns?