Geo-tech Advice

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buckbno

Reaction score
I studied for 2 weeks using 6 minute solutions and NCEES study guide for PE, worked the morning and Geo-tech for afternoon. Here are my test results: I did not pass.

Morning Percent Correct

Cons 75

Geo 62

Str 75

Transpo 75

Water resources 88

Answered Correctly 30/40 Did very well

Afternoon(Geo-tech)

Subsurface Exploration 33

Engineering Properties 80

Soil Mechanics Ana 40

Earthquake Engr 100

Earth Structures 50

shallow foundations 67

Earth retaining stru 83

Deep foundations 75

other topics 20

Answered correctly 24/40

If you average both scores it come to 67.5, not enough

here are a list the ref. I had for the exam

Deep foundations Das

Shallow foundations Das

Six minute solutions (Geo)

NCEES study Guide

CERM

Transp ref

That's it.

I am looking for suggestions to help me get over the top in October e.g. mainly references.

thanks

I read on the forum where someone made 15 -20 on the PM geo-tech and passed. If that's the case I must have got the wrong letter, just kidding.

Last edited by a moderator:
If this is corrent, and you got a 54/80 and did not pass, then I got few answers.

Maybe a little bit more study time. And look into the Chelapati manuals. They are really nice and thorough,

A sorry you did not pass, especially with those numbers. Good luck next time.

ktulu

Why do you think you didn't do better on the morning geotech portion? I think you left too many points on the table in the morning (doing better in geotech would have helped). It doesn't sound like you're too far off, so if this is your first time, I'd just redouble (literally! four weeks isn't too much time to spend) your efforts and take another turn.