Career Change

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WoodSlinger

Reaction score
I have what I feel is some pretty exciting news. However, I don't want to share it with anyone I know (yet), besides my wife, because of the probability that they will think I'm nuts. Since I'm not really known here, and I don't really know any of you, I feel this is the perfect place to unload this off my chest. Feel free to respond if you wish, but I'm not really looking for advice or affirmation. I guess I just want to tell a bunch of strangers my most personal of stories.

I've been a structural engineer for 8.5 years. I'm licensed, have had good employment, etc. I went into the field for similar reasons to most other engineers I know. I'm good at math and science, I like the construction process, I like to solve problems, and most of all actually be somewhat creative. However, pretty much since the very first day I worked professionally I have felt like I had a fast one pulled on me. I thought that being a successful engineer meant you were a good engineer. I thought that having a career as an engineer meant you did jus that, engineered stuff. I didn't realize that it was mostly about business practice, politicking, kissing ass, putting the appropriate amount of time in at work not work into your time, so on and so fourth. In my disgruntlement, the thing that has always brought me back to level has been woodworking, something I've enjoyed doing for as long as I can remember. However, until just a few days ago, I had never looked at wood working as a career (even though I'm pretty good at it). It was always just a hobby.