Advice for those in college

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ODB_PE

I'm not an engineer, but I play one at work
Reaction score
I went to a very large state university, so I'm not sure how much of this is available for others, but...

Stock up on everything you can use for your profession while it is free or dirt cheap.

I had free access to all the AASHTO documents, ASTM standards, etc. All downloadable as .pdfs - I determined what documents would be useful to me in my field, and loaded up. Also, you can usually join societies for free or cheap and get their codes at a significant discount.

As a student, I realize extra money is tight and this is not in your top priorities, but I figure I was able to fill my reference library with $thousands worth of codes. Of course, it is all for personal use and it is illegal to use for commercial purposes - but you can take stuff with you to the exams.

Same thing with software. AutoCAD for $200, Mathcad for $15 - great stuff is out there for you.

Amen to that. I even loaded up on software again right before I finished up my masters degree recently.

Sorta makes you wonder...if they can afford to sell all this software at those prices to students, why can't they do the same for consumers? I can understand charging businesses a premium because the business uses the software to more efficiently make money of their own. But charging Joe Citizen $1000 for AutoCAD or full-blown MS Office seems a bit ridiculous.

Amen to that. I even loaded up on software again right before I finished up my masters degree recently.