4th time the charm

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tokoyoshi

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I have been a lurker on this forum for about 3 years. I studied mechanical engineer in college and I finally passed my Electrical Power PE exam as of Wednesday. It took me 4 attempts (2 attempts as paper and pen and 2 attempts for computer base test). For those of you who are struggling..... as others have stated in the past, don't give up. Even if you failed once keep on pushing other wise your time would be wasted.

It took me 4 tries to finally figured out how to "study" for the test and I want to thank Zach Stone's program. As a mechanical engineer who only took Electrical 101 in college back in 2010, Zach's class helped me understand the fundamentals of EE and of course prep for the PE Test. These are the order I would recommend that works for me.
  1. Going through Zach's course on-demand or live.
  2. Do Zach's homework problems
  3. This will be a struggle for most of you, if you think are not ready to take the practice exam, JUST DO IT. It took me 4 tries to figure this out. The more practice problems that you do, even if you memorized it, the better you will perform on the test. I took 1 month doing nothing but practice tests in this order
    • NCEES Practice Test
    • Graffeo The Electrical Engineer's Guide (outdated, easy, and won't discourage you Don't focus too much on this test)
    • Complex Imaginary 1-4 Exam (Excellent in hitting all subject slightly harder)
    • Zach's Stone online practice problem generator (highly recommended for more practice questions)
    • Zach's Stone Practice Test (hard- It will discourage you but will point out your common mistakes)
    • Engineering Pro Final (hard- It will discourage you but will point out your common mistakes)