Working Overseas

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soobs

Reaction score
It seems there are almost no jobs for entry level engineers and most engineering jobs require 5+ years of experience..

However I am seeing some opportunity for overseas work..

My question is, do overseas experience(With US firm) still help in the long run?

Anyone recommend this route?

Anyone have experience working overseas ie middle east or Asia?

I am working overseas in Afghanistan as we speak. I am over here as an employee of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. They always have deployable jobs advertised...not sure about entry level though. Doesn't hurt to check though.

I work in the Oil & Gas Industry. Generally, taking an overseas position is the best way to get into the company. If you a young & single; a year or two isn't so bad.

If you see 5+ years experience let me know lol, I have been seeing minimum of 8 years and a job opening that I was qualified for other than the number of year which was 20!!! I over heard a manager saying they were having a real hard time finding 20 year guys that were willing to work for free so they brought the experience level down but still not down to 5, the lowest I have seen is 8.