PE from old firm wont verify my experience. Has tried to sabotage my career previously and sent nastygrams to my current employer in past

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nikhitapm

Reaction score
I am a female engineer and immigrant on H1b visa. When I graduated, I couldn't find companies that would sponsor my visa. After sending resumes out to companies in DC, VA and MD area, Firm A started me at low wages (below the requirement for engineer salary acc to US labor dept); I was on STEM opt at the time, and accepted it because I just wanted to gain experience. I was treated terribly at this firm, not to mention being the only woman. I would hear comments from my boss like "Why cant you marry someone, so we wouldn't have to keep paying for your visa".
Note this is a small firm - 10 people (only 2 PEs who were also principals at company, and no HR dept- My boss was HR, accounting etc) I got 1 week of vacation and worked 60 hours for low pay. I thought this was normal, as I didn't know any better, and have no one in this country (family). My friends were sympathetic and supportive, which helped me get through.

This was during COVID times. Also not to mention, he made us come in Washington DC office and said we dont need to wear masks or practice social distancing because covid wasnt real. I was scared for my life every day for months. It made my mother ,who lives in my home country, cry many times fearing for me. As you all know, it was a scary time when we didnt understand COVID-19, my roommate hated me and blamed her grandmother's death on me, because unlike her I went to work and exposed her to it. Anyways, I just had the worst life at home and at work then. This led me to find a new job.