single midpoint letter grades

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

victor2010

Reaction score
My college had single midpoint letter grades, which meant their was no B+ or B-. I always thought this was unfair. when ever I scored a mid or low B i always got a C on my report card. professors didn’t want to give me a B since it put me in the same category of people who got a low A. I graduated with a 2.50 gpa, I calculated that I would have had a 3.25 with a normal grading system. now I cant get into grad school.

the grades at my school are as follows:

A 4.00

B 3.00

C 2.00

D 1.00

F 0

Normal? I would guess that your school's grading system, which is the same as mine was, is the norm.

My undergrad/engineering grad school had whole letter and pluses. The school were I am taking MBA classes right now also has minuses. Which is nice because instead of getting a B+ in a couple classes, I got an A- which helps keep my GPA up.

All of my undergrad and grad schools only did whole letters. GPA wasn't very important: I got into grad school with a 2.75 or so.

Personally, I'd like to see schools eliminate grades and GPA, and only score pass or not pass. I'm not one of those everyone-gets-a-trophy types, but school should have passers and failures.

All of my undergrad and grad schools only did whole letters. GPA wasn't very important: I got into grad school with a 2.75 or so.
Personally, I'd like to see schools eliminate grades and GPA, and only score pass or not pass. I'm not one of those everyone-gets-a-trophy types, but school should have passers and failures.
Sounds like you are a everyone-gets-a-trophy type. Making school pass/fail would seriously reduce the amount of learning that occurs.