PE Exam for PhD’s?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LM_JAZ

Reaction score
I have a PhD in Civil Engineering and about 15 years of work experience. Does anyone know of any state that does not require a PE exam?

here are the regs for Colorado:

http://www.dora.state.co.us/aes/licensing/...ments-pepls.htm

It looks like you need 20 years of progressive engineering experience inwhich education may be a part. I know the bachelor's degree is worth 4 years, a masters degree is worth 1 additional year, but I am unsure what the PhD is worth. But if you have 15 years AFTER school (they don't allow overlapping education & work experience time), you're probably right at the edge of the limits.

^^^

mr man is introducing a bill to make the PE mandatory, but only for PhDs.

I have a PhD in Civil Engineering and about 15 years of work experience. Does anyone know of any state that does not require a PE exam?
My advice to you is to sit tight for a few years. There is a proposal in front of NCEES right now to waive PE requirements for PhDs. If it gets passed, it will become part of the NCEES model law that will likely be accepted by several state licensure boards.

I think in VA a PHD gets you out of the FE exam...only one of professor in the civil dept where I went to school had a PE (also had a PHD)...but he used to claim he was the only real engineer there...

I think in VA a PHD gets you out of the FE exam...only one of professor in the civil dept where I went to school had a PE (also had a PHD)...but he used to claim he was the only real engineer there...
It seemed like the only licensed profs I had were those who did work on the side.

That has since changed, however. Lots of profs from my college have got their licenses in the past five years.