Need Job Advice as Intern

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MM9232

Reaction score
I have 1 semester left before i graduate(industrial engineering). I am currently a summer intern for a rather large company. My current group is fully staffed, however a different group has a full time opening. When I was introduced to the boss of the group with a full time opening I got a strong impression he was looking at me as a strong candidate for that role. I have a few weeks left before going back to school and I am very interested in the open position, but I am unsure of how I should express interest in the position. Given that I have some time left I feel it would be beneficial to work with some of the other employees in that group and see how they operate but as i said, they are separate from my current role. I believe approaching my boss about this would be the first step, but I am uncertain of how I should handle it. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Go to your boss and tell he/she that you are interested in the other position when you graduate in December. Tell him that your intern experience has been valuable/beneficial to you, you like the company (assuming that you do) and think that you would be a great fit with the new group. As he/she what they think, and how you should proceed. What should happen is that your boss will agree with you, suggest that he/she talk to the hiring boss and see when you all can have a caucus and discuss the open position.

NOW, if your boss does not move on this-- take initiative and see the other boss. After all, school starts in 3 weeks, you don't have time to waste. Conversely, the hiring boss is probably worried that he/she cannot/willnot find a qualified candidate to fill the position and will be excited to have you show some interest in the position.