How to explain study schedule to child

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TXengrChickPE

Here we go Steelers, here we go!
Reaction score
So, I started studying in earnest a few days ago and already, my 6yr old daughter is already starting to complain about my study schedule. Basically, what I've been doing is family stuff (dinner, playtime, etc) until 8pm. At 8pm, I start studying and my daughter gets 1/2hr to play computer games while hubby does dishes (he is being wonderful). At 8:30, hubby gets her ready for bed and I take a quick break at 9 to read her bedtime story. Then I keep studying til 11 or 12.

This will be my first (and hopefully ONLY) time taking the exam, so I have no idea how much study time I actually need. I barely studied at all for my EIT (dd was only 4mo. old then) and passed on the first try, but I'm a lot more worried about the PE, and I feel like I've forgotten a LOT.

We have tried to keep her schedule as close to normal as possible, except that now daddy does the before bed routine instead of me. But, she has thrown a tantrum 2 nights running now about how she needs me to give her a bath. We didn't give in, but I didn't get much studying done while she was screaming. Up until now, we've been pretty lucky with her behavior and have rarely had to deal with tantrums, which means we don't have much practice :)

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to explain to her how important this is? I've already told her that Saturday's are going to be fun days where she gets to pick something that all of us (or just the 2 of us) do together, but that doesn't seem to be enough to get her through the week.

I'm sure that it bothers you as much as it does her, or more so.