Working Overseas

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ODB_PE

I'm not an engineer, but I play one at work
Reaction score
it seemed like this might be an appropriate place for this thread:

Sometimes, when I daydream, I think it would be cool to work and raise the family overseas.

Today I saw a job posting for exactly what I do in Sydney with a pretty good salary.

Things that make you go hmmmm.

Anyhow, I know many of you work overseas - I figured there's probably some good resources out there but I don't know where to begin. This is very much a pipe dream, but it would be nice to hear some thoughts on the matter, such as:

• Nobody likes americans
  • The taxes will kill you
  • Hidden costs such as XXX are outrageous
  • nobody will give you a Visa

Stuff like that. Personal opinions of Sydney itself are not needed, as my only general requirements would be that the majority speak english and the area is not in conflict.

TIA

my kids traveled to Australia a few years ago and found the people very friendly.

If you have a skill that is in demand, such as structural engineering, they will give you a visa. They just won't let any deadbeat in ;) but you should not have a problem.

look at what that guy up in Perth had working as a truck driver and then a carpet store clerk.

looks like a pretty cool adventure. sure, it's not the Northern Marianas Islands, but then its not the Northern Marianas islands.

Australia is very nice. If you could get paid well there, you should consider it. Check that the advertised salary is in Australian dollars - not sure what the exchange rate is, it used be pretty low-valued. I've known a few people who have taken jobs in Australia, so I know it's not impossible. I might even consider moving there one day. I'm less thrilled about moving to places in the US mainland.