How to find Freelancing Opportunities

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phirra

Reaction score
I have a master's from one of the top 15 programs in the US in Structural Engineering and PE from California. I have 4.5 years of experience working at a firm that did construction engineering services for heavy civil and marine projects. I did a lot of temporary structures, FEA modeling (SAP, ROBOT, Plaxis), lifting schemes and frames, a lot of drafting, etc.
It so happened that I had to move back to my home country in one of the Asian countries for personal reasons last year.
I am looking to freelance but having this very niche experience I don't know where to start. My old company was acquired by a big international firm so can't really ask them.
I am not looking to stamp since that would be risky in many ways. What I am looking for is maybe assist a small firm or a one-man-run LLC that can benefit from outsourcing. Helping them with calcs, reports, or drafting. If need be I can hire people in my country as well. So where should I look out for such opportunities?

Also, the other question that I had was should I just limit to structural engineering? Maybe there are stuff that I can learn from other branches like transportation, traffic, construction management, etc. Since I did a lot of FEA modeling I was also thinking maybe I could pick some of the software like CATIA, ANSYS and explore the mechanical engineering/machine design area if those tend to offer more freelancing opportunities.

I am just bouncing off ideas at this time. It would be great if you could add 0.02$.

Cheers!