Structural Engineering Exams

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SE-III

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a practicing structural engineer primarily working in power sector. I will have 3 years of experience in March 2009. I have a BSc Civil Engg. from a Foreign university and MSc from a US university. I have a PE License that I got this year. I intend to take SE exams for MLSE License in October 2009.

I have read thoroughly all the requirements on NCEES website. I understand that among other requirements I need 3 years of structural engineering related work experience. I need to enroll in NCEES Records Program. I have following questions:

1) Is it advisable to enroll in the NCEES Records Program before my 3 years of experience is completed? or should I wait till March 2009?

2) As I understand, being an MLSE will improve my quality as a structural engineer and other than that I will be able to practice as a structural engineer in some jurisdictions where it is required to practice Structural Engineering (except for CA, IL etc.). Are there anyother benefits that I may get? How about salary increase? How important do you become after getting SE license?

3) What does it mean by "Engagement" for NCEES Records Program application? For Example, as I have been working in this firm for almost 2.5 years now and my level of responsibility has been more or less the same (promoted from Engineer II to current Engineer III level). So, I would consider it as one engagement. And I have worked with different supervisors during this time, so for references any five of them should qualify as references for my application ??