Qualifying Experience Criteria in Virginia

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tim1981

Reaction score
I am applying to take the PE in Virginia. I have my BS degree in Math, which is a related science and therefore requires 6 years of "qualifying experience" for licensure in Virginia. I spent 1.5 years working as a CAD designer at one firm, where I was given responsibilities similar to other recent grads who had majored in Engineering. I then switched companies and took another job as a designer 4.5 years ago, and have since gotten my EIT and taken some engineering classes working towards a master's.

I'm unsure how to document my 6 years of experience. Virginia's law specifically says that "drafting" is not considered qualifying experience, and the application asks for you to make a distinction between "Sub-Professional (non-qualifying)" and "Professional" experience, within the same company. At both jobs, I was hired to do "drafting and design." Early in my career, it was more drafting and less design, and now, like most PEs I know, I still do some drafting, but I'm more focused on the design.

The first job pushed me to learn engineering, but didn't have enough clients to give me any real opportunity to any real design. I definitely learned a lot in the support role I played there, though. My second job, where I work now, was more hesitant to give me opportunities to design since I was not, in their minds at the time, "PE track." I would say that the first year there I was basically the CAD bitch. Years 2-3 I spent bitching and complaining that I should have more responsibility, while working under the one guy at the company that agreed with me. Somewhere along the line they realized I was right and that I shouldn't be the CAD bitch, and for the past 1.5 years I've been firmly in the Engineering category.