motivation...

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sschell

Dude?
Reaction score
I hope I am not shooting my self in the foot... but I am curious.

Why do people who have taken the PE exam, or are studying to take it, help other people prepare for the exam?

It would seem to me that the price paid to prepare and stamp plans is directly related to the number of people qualified to do so (supply and demand). So by helping other people pass, one could theoretically reduce thier own compensation.

I realize that this effect is probably trivial... but this is the kind of wierd place my mind goes when I am studying too hard! (preparing to take Mechanical PE in April)

Engineers help grow and develop communities, and technologies. Better communities, and better technologies lead to better economies. The more engineers, the better the economy.

This is not meant to exclude any other profession. We all do our part.

I would echo Mike's statements - most engineers typically work together to help each other out. :D Many people have offered advice and strategies and encouragement for passing this exam. I give many thanks for this :+1:

For myself, I found that offering to assist with problem solving helped me increase my comprehension for many concepts and principles. :study My thinking is that if you can break a concept down well enough to explain it in a manner that someone else can understand said concept - then you understand it pretty well.

Besides, I am just a heckuva nice guy. :???: when I am not wearing my regulator hat :ph43r: :ph43r: :ph43r:

Regards,

JR

my theory is that i will get hired (or not) based on my own personal merits and/or who i know. once there, it's on me to perform. so, helping a 'stranger' on a message board is not going to diminish my value in any way.