Limited Time

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pmblair

Reaction score
I started studying late, and will only get in about 2 months of studying.

In terms of AM section Water Resources in the NCEES specification it states pressure conduit(eg. single pipe, force mains)

I cant find these in the CERM. I am using an old CERM until i get the latest Next weekend.

Does CERM call these something else?

These are just basic water pipe problems, calculating pressures, and flows at various location in a water pipe. Should be covered by all editions of CERM this has not changed for quite a while.

Look up:

Darcy-Weisbach equation

Reynolds number / Moody friction factor

Hazen-Williams equation

Head loss in circular conduits

Equivalent length (K values for various pipe fittings)

This should more than cover what you would need to know for pipe hydraulics in the WR portion of the breadth exam.

Good luck!

Thank you sac_engineer and EnvEngineer.

I appreciate the input. I have been a structural design consultant for the last 4 1/2 years.

I am hoping the afternoon structural will be easier then some people are suggesting on here.

I got a real late start on studying and i am a little worried.

I have already refreshed myself with "

Darcy-Weisbach equation

Hazen-Williams equation

Equivalent length (K values for various pipe fittings)"

Haven't reviewed Head loss in circular conduits yet.

On the NCEE exam specifications under water resources and environmental There is hydraulics , open Chanel, hydrology, wastewater treatment, and water treatment.

So is it just hydraulics in the am?

Sorry for the long drawn out questions. I couldn't afford the cerm till a few weeks ago( had my first child 5 months ago) so i am getting a real late start on studying; and im a little stressed trying to retain all this so fast.