Jobs- what do you do?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
E

EdinNO

I'm considering a career move. Still engineering, but not sure what.

So what does everyone do?

Do you like it? Why?

How is the pay (good, bad, ugly)?

How are the growth opportunnities?

I'll start:

Control Systems Engineer for a controls contractor in the HVAC industry (mainly for commercial buildings)

Its OK sometimes, sometimes not. The work can be tedious at times and boring at others. This industry is saturated and every bit of work we get is usually low dollar stuff because there is a fair bit of competition.

The pay is fairly low and ugly I think.

Growth is bad to OK. In my company (small) there are not many places to go and the pay will likely not get very great either way.

Well, I work in the federal/nuclear field. We are designing and building a 500,000 sq ft facility.

I like it because it's pretty challenging.

The pay is pretty good.

Maybe that helps... :thumbsup:

Last edited by a moderator:
Mechanical Engineer doing Process Engineering in manufacturing. I don't get to do a lot of design, mostly machine design stuff.

There is a lot of crap you have to put up with in manufacturing, they pay well, but sometimes the stress is not worth it. It really depends on what you feel comfortable with. We see layoffs about every 2-3 years and business is moving overseas, so the workforce is pretty competitive and high stress.

A PE is not required in my position, I'm doing this to be my "backup" when / if this company ever kicks me to the curb, but since the money is good, it's hard to turn my back on this job. Benefits are also good with a family to consider.

Good feedback/info from yous twos. Thanks.