Is it possible to start your own business as an EE Power PE?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kona311

Reaction score
I work in a utility and find the work sometimes repetitive, sometimes pointless, often unfulfilling. I would love nothing more than to be able to start my own firm at some point in time, as my uncle who is an Environmental Engineer and LEP did. He openly admits he didn't make nearly the money he would have had he stayed employed by a corporation, but that his quality of life wouldn't have been nearly what it was had he stayed. I have considered leaving the utility to join a consulting firm, but most of the big consulting firms would result in less work-life balance for no increase in pay (although some have interesting retirement or stock options but take a long time to really pay off). Maybe I'm a bad engineer for caring more about work-life balance than pay, but as a father of a young child, being able to ejoy him growing up is very important to me.

Just wondering if any other EE's have found avenues to work for themselves. Considering going back for a civil degree because there seems to be tons of small, non-corporate civil consulting firms compared to EE options, at least in my area.

Thanks

Well I'm sure some who may have started their own business/firm can respond accordingly, but in short, it is quite difficult. Why not instead try finding a small (rather than large as you indicated) consulting firm that you could join and see what it's like first hand? That may give you some ideas before taking the proverbial leap on your own. This will also depend on your area and what is available.