Electric Machines

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sharon

Reaction score
Would some brave soul like to give me the basics when it comes to Electric Machines? I am not a Power Engineer but am taking the Power PE for the second time. I have a real mental block when it comes to the machines problems. I am using the EERM by Camara and working through those problems. Is there a basic process or standard approach to these problems? Do I really have to understand the fundamental difference in operation of synchronous motors vs. induction motors and series-wired vs. shunt-wired DC machines?? And losses.....losses.....ohhhhh lossess. Anybody have any hints/tricks that will help simplify these problems. Where are you machines gurus? Come forth and HELP ME!!! Thanks...Sharon

Would some brave soul like to give me the basics when it comes to Electric Machines? I am not a Power Engineer but am taking the Power PE for the second time. I have a real mental block when it comes to the machines problems. I am using the EERM by Camara and working through those problems. Is there a basic process or standard approach to these problems? Do I really have to understand the fundamental difference in operation of synchronous motors vs. induction motors and series-wired vs. shunt-wired DC machines?? And losses.....losses.....ohhhhh lossess. Anybody have any hints/tricks that will help simplify these problems. Where are you machines gurus? Come forth and HELP ME!!! Thanks...Sharon
I am not a real expert but, If you are just trying to pass PE, I don't recommend Camara's book. It is too detailed.