ChE PE worth it?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

barkley

Reaction score
I graduated in 2001, took and passed the FE but only just recently got a job doing "real" engineering work - process design and the likes. I'm thinking of getting my PE b/c I hope it will help me be a stronger candidate at other companies when this job has run its course. I make above normal salary ranges for where I am and my experience level so that's not my motivation. My question is: does a PE give chemical / process engineers a leg up or is it more helpful for other disciplines like Civil or Mechanical? It's going to be pretty tough to get having been so long; I want to make sure it's worth the time and expense for future career path. Thanks!

From common perception I think it’s more relevant for Civil and Mechanical Engineers based on permitting requirements that require a licensed Engineer. However, you need to look at where you are/where you want to be and see if it is worth getting and keeping up with the continuing education. Down the road, it could ultimately help you land management positions.