CA Seismic Exam Review Course vs. Self Study

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

awwyeah

Reaction score
So I DID NOT pass my SEISMIC EXAM last Oct 09. I studied by myself off of:

Seismic Design of Building Structures, 9th, Lindburg

345 Solved Seismic Design Problems, 5th, Baradar

2007 CBC

ASCE 7-05 Minimum Design Loads for Buildings and Other Structures

The other posts on Review Courses are old. I wanted to take Heiner's class, but it looks like it is not offered for the April 09 exam in So Cal. I want to know if anyone has taken any of these or think they're worth the $ as opposed to self study. This is what I've seen available:

ASCE YMB Seismic 1-day $175 +$90 for text Heiner

M.P. Review 2-day $375 +0 text included

Professional Engineering Services (PES) Dr. Mansour/ 4-day/28 hr $495 + $0 text included

Irvine Institute (IIT) Seismic Principals 4-day/24 hr $475 + $125 text

PPI Special Seismic Accelerated 1-day $350 or $545.75 including text

PPI Special Seismic Comprehensive 2-day $600 or $782.75 including text

Am I missing any other courses?

Any input or thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

I think having the Hiner workbook is a must but I wonder about the value of a 1 day in such a broad topic. I just dont have the time to drive to OC so I am on my own, I think I will spend more time than most studying and working problems.

What area were you diffecent in on your evaluation?

I passed the Seismic by self-study with Hiner Seismic Design Workbook. Eventhough you attended the seminar or whatever (webinar) still that all depends on you. Know your strengths and weaknesses and start from there. You can make it.

It is all up to you. Good luck.

2007 CBC