Another Partnership thread!!!

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goodal

Reaction score
I've been working at the firm I'm at for 9 years this May. I started as a draftsman. Worked all the way through college then tested and passed the PE last april. I’m now eligible to become a partner. We are a very small company, 3-5 people at most. We have had this in mind the whole time and are now starting to nail down details. I wanted to get yalls advice on the highlights of the first draft agreement so far. In honor of the last post on this topic I will use Moe as owner number 1 and myself as Badal of course.

All effective 2010:

1) Moe’s salary is to be at set number for 10 years (starting at 1.66 times Badal’s starting salary). Badal’s salary to start at current value and increase

4% per year for 10 years. Ownership to be transferred at 4% per year to Badal for 10 years at the end of which Badal will possess 40% and Moe

60%.

2) Should funds not be available to meet salaries as defined above, both will be reduced proportionately.

3) Badal becomes vested on Jan. 1 2020. Should Badal leave prior to this date, all shares shall be sold back to Moe at 1$ per share.

4) Life insurance policies shall be owned by both parties in the amount necessary to by surviving spouses shares upon death. Policies shall be paid for

by owner.

5) Should Moe’s son (now 8) wish to become an engineer, he shall have first right of refusal. Otherwise, Badal has first right of refusal for Moe’s

shares.

6) Value of the company shall be based on average of previous 5 years gross plus company assets.

7) Bonus’s are not guaranteed and are based on year-end net income and stock ownership.

8) All employees to be paid monthly

9) Corporation shall pay all liscence fees, liability insurance and professional priviledge taxes.