2 must books-1 obvious one

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eng.dork

Reaction score
I took and past the PE this past Oct. That was my second time taking it. To give further reference I took the FE five times. Everything I am about to say has been said a hundred times on this site, however it needs to be repeated because it is very important and helped me tons when it came to studying.

1. 2 must have books:

Power System Analysis-Grainger/Stevenson--I read this book from cover to cover. It help me understand some questions that you will see on the afternoon power portion of the exam. This was a great book and easy to understand. I have a EE degree from a major university and was not taught some of the things that were in this book. Worth every penny in my estimation.

Schaum's outlines-Electric Power Systems--Problems that will back up your reading in the pervious "must have book". These books go hand-in-hand in my opinion. Doing these problems helped so much on the exam.

2. 1 obvious book:

The NCEES example test. This is huge! This is great to get to know the format of the test. This is very important. There are only a certain amount of test questions that they can ask (database); get to know that types of questions that they are asking. I can't stress this enough!