Which exam should I take?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DBL

Reaction score
Obviously this is a personal decision, but I am hoping for some input from those who have taken the Power and/or Electrical & Electronics exams to help me decide.

I got my EE degree about 10 years ago and I have not sat for any PE exams previously. My work experience has touched on some topics listed on both of these exam specs from NCEES (as well as a little bit of Civil), but without a lot of depth in any particular area.

It appears there are a lot more options in review courses for Power, but I have little to no practical experience with 3-phase, medium/high voltage or rotating machines. I also felt more comfortable with the DC circuit analysis than AC when I took the FE exam in April, and I know I could brush up on things like Boolean algebra again pretty easily.

On the other hand, the Electrical & Electronics exam appears to cover a much more varied set of topics, which appears to be challenging to prep for in only a few months.

I noticed that most of the posts on this board are related to the Power exam. Is there a reason that so many go that direction? Sorry for the long-winded first post. I appreciate any input or advice you can offer.

I have a BSEE with a minor in electronics but my experiance is more based on electrical portion of comercial and industrial projects were NEC ruled on these...i took power option because it was based on my experiance. Also i didnt want to get again on laplace transform, furier transform op-amps, transistors etc. Power have some electronics envolved but not that much. To make the story short i felt by that time that power was easier for me than electronics. Also there is a bunch of resources to pass power (complex imaginary, spin off, courses) more than electronics in my opinion.

(null)