How to pass PE (power)

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I will share my experiences in next few days on how I pass PE exam

Last edited by a moderator:
I will share my experiences in next few days on how I pass PE exam
Let me guess, it will probably follow something similar to this process:

1. Do problems to identify weaknesses

2. Study identified weak areas

3. Do more problems to identify additional weaknesses

4. Study weak areas

5. Rinse and Repeat until exam date

I'm hesitant to post my experience as the last thing I want to do is discourage anyone from studying as much as they need to - but I figure this might be useful in helping to convince people to take the PE exam early if possible. (I believe taking it while college is still fresh is a huge advantage)

I graduated in December '09. I took the FE exam in April '09 and passed it. I bought the big yellow prep book and spent a respectable about of time familiarizing myself with the equation book they provide. Other than that, I didn't prep much but bear in mind that I was still in the middle of my undergraduate studies so everything was very fresh in my head. Difficult content but I passed that.

I took the PE this October ('11) and my employer gave me 4 Fridays off to study. I bought the Camara prep book, the NEC, and the NCEES study manual. I spent almost all of the time on these Fridays (but pretty much just these 4 Fridays) going through the practice problems and carefully tabbing every resource I needed to solve all the problems. I also made an effort to make sure I could solve the problem a few different ways. (IE what if they gave us these 2 pieces of information instead, could I still find the missing variable OK?).