Where do I begin?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

gdawg

Let's see, it's been 18 years since I've been out of college. My initial major was ME, but I ended up switching & graduating with a BA in PolSci. Began working in the enginering field 2 years later so now I have 16 years of experience. I'm in Georgia and even though I have 16 years of experience, PolSci degree doesn't equal an engineering curriculum so I have to start with the FE exam. Has anyone used Testmasters? And if you're in the Georgia area, how was the Testmaster teacher? Any other books, DVD, suggestions...prayers? I plan to take the FE in October 08.

I don't know anything about Testmasters but I think a review course would help. You should order the NCEES Sample Questions and Answers for the FE, and a couple review books (The FERM) from the infamous other board. Look over some problems to see where you stand. The problem about the FE is it is more tailored to school type stuff than practical experience. But people do pass it without an engineering degree.

A lot of the FE exam is math. It isn't real complicated detailed math, but you need to know the basics of algebra, trig, and calculus.

Are you sure you will be able to pursue PE w/ out engineering degree? Taking & passing FE is one thing (and i have not done that yet, don't get me wrong), but does Georgia allow you to sit for PE w/ out the ABET degree?

I really can't be much help on your question. I just had to post in this thread b/c you say you're in Georgia and your screen name has misspelled the word dog. So I am obliged to reply with this

GeorgiaTechYellowJackets2.jpg

Sorry, I just couldn't help myself.

Last edited by a moderator:
I would double check that your state will let you go for a PE without an engineering degree.