Transmission Lines

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cbinla

Reaction score
I am planning on taking the Electrical Power exam this October (2010).

I have been out of school for over 15 years. My degree is in electrical engineering, but I didn't have any emphasis in power classes except for the standard electromagnetic, electric machines and circuit analysis classes.

I don't have much experience in transmission lines, but I found this book "Engineering Electromagnetics" by Nathan Ida to review transmission lines from a "beginners" level. It has good reviews from 8 people on Amazon.

Can anyone else recommend this book for preparing for the PE exam?

Thanks

I am planning on taking the Electrical Power exam this October (2010).
I have been out of school for over 15 years. My degree is in electrical engineering, but I didn't have any emphasis in power classes except for the standard electromagnetic, electric machines and circuit analysis classes.

I don't have much experience in transmission lines, but I found this book "Engineering Electromagnetics" by Nathan Ida to review transmission lines from a "beginners" level. It has good reviews from 8 people on Amazon.

Can anyone else recommend this book for preparing for the PE exam?

Thanks
Power Systems Analysis (Grainger & Stevenson). I have heard, and can tell you from my own experience, it is the best power systems analysis book. About the Transmission Lines do not worry too much about that. Just be sure you get the basis. Grainger's book is pretty good explaining what you need. Good luck and do not hesitate to post your questions.

We have a bunch of good EEs here willing to help. Flyer is our resident expert and he is always helping with any questions posted.

Again, good luck!!!!!!!!!