Transmission Line Engineers

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gymrat1279 PE

Reaction score
Hi, I'm relatively new to EB and was wondering if there were any other transmission line engineers on here. I'm a civil engineer, but I work with mainly EEs.

Welcome to the board gymrat !!

I noticed you stated you were a civil engineer but worked with EEs mostly. Do you work for a utility or other energy industry entity? If so, how did you end up there and what sort of duties do you have as a civil engineer.

I am kinda curious because I have been thinking about branching into the energy/utility industry. I am an environmental engineer by education and experience with a soon-to-be M.S. in civil engineering (mostly geotechnical emphasis).

Thanks for your reply.

JR

Thanks!

I work for a utility. We are an independent electric transmission company. I do line routing and the structure design for the transmission towers and steel poles. I also do some foundation design in and outside the substations. I ended up there right out of school. I was going to work for a consultant who does some work for us, but they weren't hiring at the time and they handed over my resume to the company I work for now.

We don't have any environmental engineers that work for us currently, but we do utilize engineering firms that will do studies of wetlands and other areas that may be affected by our lines and substations.

Hey, gymrat. Where did you go to school? Given your last reply I think I know where you work. I know a couple of people that work there. I'll PM you with names.