Prep Time ?

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
N

NCGOLFER67

I am a re-tester taking the P.E I was thinking about taking it this Spring...but things are moving quick. just wanted to get a feel on how much time is needed to prepare...study...aquire references...ect. I don't want to push it...would rather wait and pass than hurry up and fail!! ....+ the holidays always seem to put a kink in the equation...........................any comments are appreciated!!!! :D

I honestly did about 200 hours for my re-try, over about a 4 month period.

only about 12 hours of what I studied was on the test though....

I took the PE last spring, so here's my timeline.

I got my application, transcripts, references together in October and submitted it to my state's board for consideration in November.

I heard I was approved in mid-November, ordered my reference manual and study guide, and began studying Thanksgiving weekend.

Don't use the holidays as an excuse. I studied every day on my normal schedule throughout. The only days I didn't study were the days I traveled cross country back and forth. I brought a few books and studied while I was away for 2-2.5 hours/day.

In total, i put about 6 hours in every 5 days/week for 3 months. About 360 hours. Bu then I did work some saturdays too. So Ill say about 400hrs.

I know it seems like alot, but lets just say I was one of 100 at my exam that thought it was very very easy.

Then again, I may have put too much time into it because there was a shit-load of stuff that wasnt even on there that I knew.

Safe than sorry........

(Plus it helps motivation you knowing theres a 33% pay increase waiting for your if you pass <---- helped me. :true: )

Golfer: