PE vs SE in Texas

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

someguy

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm preparing to submit my application to take my licensing exam but I am torn between which exam I should take. I have 2 years of design experience in shallow foundations, precast/prestressed concrete, steel, timber, and masonry structures and extensive experience with wind loading on structures ranging from small to high rise structures. In addition, I have 2.5 years of analysis and retrofit design experience for the oil and gas industry. My analysis experience is in extreme loading (e.g., accidental blast for on and offshore structures) and retrofitting existing structures, or changing the design of structures to be built, that were shown to be inadequate under the loading conditions.

I am looking at signing up at www.ppi2pass.com for their Passing Zone review for the PE exam as well as buying their recommended/required review books:

-Civil Engineering Reference Manual for the PE Exam

-Practice Problems for the Civil Engineering PE Exam: A Companion to the Civil Engineering Reference Manual

-Civil PE Sample Examination

-Quick Reference for the Civil Engineering PE Exam

However, they do not have a Passing Zone review for the SE but they have similar review books. I'm still in the oil and gas industry and don't foresee myself leaving it anytime soon. I know having an SE in this industry isn't required but it is a goal of mine to get in the long run. At the same time, I know that life can lead me into a different direction at any time and having my SE would give me an edge should I need it.