PE Exam with Math Degree plus Experience

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adamgram

Reaction score
Hello,

I want to take the PE exam within the next couple of years. I have a degree in Mathematics and 4.5 years experience working under a PE at 2 different companies. I started out as a full time CAD guy and am now a Mechanical Designer. I am taking the FE exam in one month in New Hampshire, where there are no educational or experience requirements to be an E.I.T. I am also enrolled in an ABET accredited engineering program, but scheduling around my job is an issue, and therefore I will likely not graduate for another 3+ years, at which point I will have 8+ years experience, so I am exploring the option of taking the PE exam before finishing my second BS degree.

So my question is: In what states does a Math degree count towards education on the PE application? I know that it varies and I know that I can contact the state boards, however my research thus far has concluded that most states' laws have rules specified for accredited engineering, non-accredited engineering, and engineering technology degrees, and some have some things posted on their websites to the affect of "other combinations possible" which is the situation I am in. I have tried contacting some of these states and the response is generally "submit your application and we will review it", which of course costs money. So I am wondering if anyone on here has experience or has heard anything with regards to any states being lenient towards Math/Physics/other engineering related degrees for the PE exam.

Thanks in advance,

Adam

I only know California and I'm pretty sure it doesn't count here.