PE Civil- Construction Exam Preparation Strategy Review

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am scheduled to take the PE civil - construction exam in October 2011. When i studied for the FE Exam i reviewed 9 of the 11 sections for the morning and 8 of the 9 sections for the afternoon.

I am considering doing the same thing for my preparation for the PE Exam. I proposed to not review (heavily) the Water Resources & Environmental Section (20% of morning and <10% of the afternoon).

Please provide any feedback.

MorehouseGator

I passed 8hr for first time Civil/Construction. I did most of all the Water Resources, Environmental, and Soil problems. I did the first 70% of the large Structural section, ( the latter chapters get more complex). Didn't have time or get to Transportation at all. Did not study any Construction references, but have 20 + years in the Construction field of work experience. Good luck!

From what I've read this may not be the best strategy. I considered it too, but have since discounted it.

Most people who have already taken the test and have written here state that the morning section is easier than the afternoon, in terms of problem difficulty. Even though you may know more about construction, you might find the afternoon questions very difficult, whereas those 8 morning water questions were easier to get.

I keep reading a reasonable strategy is to go for at least 35/40 morning questions, at which point you only need 20/40 afternoon.