New York Experience Advice

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

R.Splines

Reaction score
Hi all, I;m new to the boards, I appreciate your time.

i want to get my PE in New York, which is where I am from and plan on settling down.

I am currently working for the Air Force out in California, where I have a little over 2 years of Civil experience. Next year I will be moving to Canada (Prince Edward Island, to be specific), where I hope to work directly for, or with, a PEng. I will be there for 3 years before moving to New York.

My question is will my out-of-country experience count towards my 4 year experience requirement (outside of my degree)? Any help it much appreciated, thanks!

Thank you for the response! I had emailed the board, and the advice I got was to look at the requirements on their website. From the site, the requirements are:

Experience acceptable for licensure must be of a scope and nature satisfactory to the Department and must be appropriately verified by the Department. The experience must:

1. demonstrate the intensive application of engineering principles in the practical solution of engineering problems;
  2. demonstrate a knowledge of engineering mathematics, physical and applied sciences, properties of materials, and the fundamental principles of engineering design;
  3. be broad in scope;
  4. develop and mature the applicant's engineering knowledge and judgment; and
  5. include at least two years of experience working on projects requiring knowledge and use of codes and practices commonly used in the United States.