Masters Degree/Carrer Decision Help

Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum

Help Support Professional Engineer & PE Exam Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

merb

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am at a crossroads in my very early career and would like some opinions. First I'll give a quick background. I graduated with a BS in Civil engineering spring 2010 and about 2 years worth of intern experience as an estimator. I got to see a variety of projects including schools (K-12 and higher), prisons, hospitals, office buildings, etc. I wanted to get a job as a structural engineer, but in this economy, not many firms were hiring, and those who were did not show me much interest. So when I graduated, I switched over to a Project Manager role for the same company I interned with, working as a consultant to a local government's DPW. I have been managing small water/wasterwater projects (pumping station upgrades, a water tower, fire hydrant painting, etc.) for about a year now. Although I am given a fair amount of responsibility, I am concerned about the fact that I am not getting any real engineering experience. I thought I could make up for this by going to grad school at night to get a degree in structural engineering and change careers after I get my degree.